Skinny (kind of) Loaded Nachos with Turkey, Beans and Cheese

So when I decided to start this blog, I told myself I will post at least one recipe a week.  Well, here I am on the Saturday night of my first week, posting my first recipe.  (Nothing like procrastination!)  As I said in my first post, I am constantly running around between work, friends, and other miscellaneous things that seem to take up so much time in my life!  If I want to make this work (and I do!) I really need to learn to take the time to write these.  Lesson 1!

Prepping to blog this first recipe taught me a lot of other lessons.  1) I need more colorful dishes (white is so boring!) 2) The lighting in my apartment sucks! 3) Don’t EVER plan to blog about a recipe you are making if you will be rushed while making it.

As you all know, last weekend was Super Bowl Sunday.  Of course, I thought to myself – what better time to start documenting some of my favorite recipes?!  WRONG!!!!  I felt so rushed, I missed part of the game, and even worse…some of the commercials!  (Although I didn’t really think they were that great this year.)  Anyway…lesson learned!

Now onto the food…

Who can watch football without nachos?? Not me!!

 

Skinny Loaded Nachos with Turkey, Beans and Cheese
Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz baked tortilla chips (I used Baked Tostitos Scoops)
  • 8 oz 99% lean turkey breast
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 cup fat free spicy black bean dip
  • 1 1/3 cup reduced fat Mexican cheese
  • 2 cups pico de gallo salsa
  • 1/2 cup light sour cream
  • 2/3 cup fresh cilantro (if you use dry (which I did) just remember 1 T fresh = 1t dried)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 425°. Place 1 oz (about 14) chips on four oven-proof dishes or one large baking sheet.

2) Heat a large nonstick pan over high heat. Add turkey. Season with cumin, garlic powder, salt and pepper and sauté until cooked through, breaking up meat into small pieces with a wooden spoon. When cooked, add bean dip and mix well.

Step 2

The meat and other ingredients without the bean dip mixed in.

3) Spoon the turkey mixture over the chips and sprinkle the cheese on top. Bake until cheese melts, about 6 minutes.

Scooping the mixture into the nachos. (Thanks to my hand model)

4) Remove the nachos from the oven, top with pico de gallo, sour cream, cilantro and jalepeños. Serve immediately.

IMG_0050 (small)

So I clearly used more sour cream than the recipe called for (hence the “kinda” in the title)

Enjoy! 🙂

The original recipe is from Skinny Taste
Leave a Reply

