Happy Valentine’s Day Eve!

I’ll admit it…I’m a romantic.  Even though I completely agree that you should show someone how much you love them every day throughout the year, having that special day once a year doesn’t hurt either!  (Hint Hint Boyfriend!!!)

This year for Valentine’s Day I decided to try and make Chocolate Covered Strawberries for my coworkers.  (Don’t worry, I saved some for the boyfriend too.)  Want to know a secret?  Chocolate Covered Strawberries are VERY easy to make!!!  (just a little messy)  The originally recipe called for dark chocolate which at first I was a little unsure about but they really ended up being quite delicious! (For the record, I do like dark chocolate.  Milk chocolate is just still my favorite.)

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Serves 12

Ingredients:

  • 4 oz dark semi-sweet chocolate (I used chocolate chips and they worked out perfectly!)
  • 12 strawberries
Strawberries and Chocolate

The ingredients. Seems simple enough.

Directions:

1) Rinse and completely dry the strawberries.

Strawberries

The strawberries laid out on paper towels to dry.

2) In a medium microwave safe bowl, microwave chocolate on HIGH for 30 seconds. Stir and repeat until all the chocolate is melted. (I actually was able to melt all the chocolate after two 30 second heatings.  Once you start stirring the chocolate melts more.)

Melted Chocolate

This is what the chocolate chips looked like after two 30 minute sessions in the microwave. After some stirring, the chips melted completed though and no more heating was necessary.

3) Dip strawberries and place on waxed paper to cool. You can eat right away refrigerate to give it a hard chocolate coating.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

The strawberries are covered and ready to go into the fridge!

I hope you all have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!  Enjoy! 🙂

Yummy!

Aaaaaamazing! (If I may say so myself!)

The original recipe comes from SkinnyTaste.
Leave a Reply

