Frozen Banana Bites

I know.  I didn’t post a recipe last week.  I don’t even have a good reason!  Earlier in the week I had time but I thought to myself, “no it’s ok, I can wait a few days.”  Mistake #1.  Then Wednesday and Thursday came and I thought “Friday will probably be quiet, I can post something then.”  Mistake #2.  Then Friday came and I thought “I have NO time to post something today so I’ll do it tomorrow.  Mistake #3.  Saturday came and before I knew it, I was out to dinner drooling over some AMAZING food when I had my first thought all day about this blog.  Ooops.  I give my boyfriend a hard time about procrastinating all the time and here I am….calling the kettle black!  (Maybe he won’t read this one?)  Anyway, I promise to make it up to you though by posting 2 recipes this week.  (It’s only Monday and I’m already posting this one so odds are good I can make good on this promise!)

So for the number of mistakes I made last week you would think I don’t have a good recipe to share.  WRONG!  These little bite-sized snacks are pretty awesome!  They were way easy to make and just as easy to devour! I found this recipe on the ever popular site Pinterest.  Ever heard of it?

Frozen Banana Bites

Frozen Banana Bites
Makes about 10-15 Bites

Ingredients

  • 2 Large Bananas
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/4 peanut butter
  • Coconut Flakes
Bananas

B-a-n-a-n-a-s!

Chocolate Chips & Peanut Butter

I used mini chocolate chips because I already had some at home.


Directions

1.  Cover a baking sheet with parchment or wax paper.

2.  Cut up the bananas into chunks.  Each banana should give you around 5 to 6 pieces.

3. Head the peanut butter and chocolate chips in the microwave on high for about a minute.  Then stir until smooth. (Note:  At first glance, it won’t look like it was heated long enough but once you start stirring you’ll be surprised by how quickly everything melts together.)

4.  Dip the banana pieces in the chocolate-peanut butter mixture.  Lay them out leaving some space between them on the parchment/wax paper.  Then when you’ve “covered” them all, use the remaining mixture to spoon over the tops.

All Gone!

All Gone!

5.  Then sprinkle the unsweetened coconut flakes on top.  Transfer to the freezer for about an hour until hardened.

Step 5

Note: I did not put coconut on all of them because I have a friend who does not like coconut.

Step 5

Ready for the freezer!

6) You can enjoy them like this (but they really aren’t frozen yet) or you can cover them with some plastic wrap or put them in a tupperware container and let them freeze overnight.

Frozen Banana Bites

Delicious!

Enjoy! 🙂

The original recipe is from NeverHomemaker.
Leave a Reply

