Spoiler Alert: Award Winning Chili!

My company decided to have a Chili Cook-Off so of course I entered!  All of the proceeds would be matched by our company and the winner would be able to donate them to the charity of his or her choice. I started “practicing” early realizing I might have to try a few different chili recipes before finding the right one to enter.  After only 1 attempt, I found the winning chili!  (Or so I was hoping.)  My boyfriend and his brother both gave it two big thumbs up so I was feeling pretty confident!  Then I came into the office on Friday and saw my competition…

Chili Cookoff

This isn’t even all of them!

There were 13 chilis overall all competing for the charity of their choice!  If you actually read the title of this post than you already know the outcome – I WON!!!!!  I am happy to report that my chili was the office favorite and all the proceeds went to the charity I picked (Big Brothers & Big Sisters).  As a “Big” myself, I was incredibly happy to be able to share the proceeds with this charity.

Great Bowls of Fire

WINNER: Great Bowls of Fire
Charity: Big Brothers & Big Sisters

Buffalo Chipotle Chili
Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound ground buffalo
  • 1/2 medium onion
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 chipotle peppers in adobo, chopped
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1 (14.5 ounce can) fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1 (15 ounce can) chili beans in sauce
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 (7 ounce) can mild diced green chilies
  • 1/2 ounce unsweetened chocolate chopped
Ingredients

Note: I do not sponsor any specific brand of food on this blog. These just happened to be the brands I chose at the store that day.

Directions:

1. Brown buffalo meat in a heavy bottomed pot over 1. medium heat. Strain. Set aside.

Raw Meat

Raw Meat

Cooked Meat

Cooked Meat

2. To the same pot that you cooked the meat in add the olive oil and onions. Cook 3 minutes. Return the meat to the pan and add in the remaining ingredients. Mix well. Reduce heat to low and simmer uncovered for 2 hours.

Olive Oil & Onions

Olive Oil & Onions

All Ingredients

All ingredients in one pot

3. Spoon into bowls and serve hot.

Buffalo Chipotle Chili

Buffalo Chipotle Chili – YUM!!!

Enjoy! 🙂

The original recipe is from Life’s Ambrosia.

Leave a Reply

